Most people know the regulations for growing and consuming marijuana vary from state to state, but misunderstandings about the exact rules can lead to confusion—and possibly an unwelcome run-in with the law.
We’ve broken down the guidelines for buying weed in the eighteen states where it’s legal.
Anyone 21 or older in Alaska can buy up to one ounce of cannabis. Adults are also able to transfer up to one ounce of cannabis to each other without repercussions. You still can’t use cannabis in public places, and you definitely can’t bring it into unregulated airspace and waterways.
In Arizona, it’s alright to have up to one ounce on your person or up to five grams of concentrate if you’re 21 or older. If you’re interested in gummies, you have to keep the maximum to 10 milligrams per serving. There’s also a max of 100 milligrams per container of gummies.
You can have up to one ounce of cannabis if you’re 21 or older in California. Additionally, you can have up to eight grams of concentrate and edibles. Sadly, you can’t make any late runs in California because dispensaries have to close by 6pm.
It doesn’t matter if you’re having edibles or flower in Colorado—either way, you only have up to one ounce. There is still no public consumption allowed in the state, so you’ll have to avoid busting it out in any public spaces.
Connecticut residents over 21 can carry up to 1.5 ounces but keep up to five ounces—as long as that extra stash is locked away at home.
Illinois uses a much more complex system than most other states. If you’re 21 years or older, you can purchase up to 30 grams of flower, five grams of concentrate, and 500 milligrams of edibles. Further complicating things, you won’t be able to buy cannabis in every county of Illinois as some are still restricted.
Maine really steps it up for the consumer because people 21 years or older can have up to two and a half ounces of cannabis at any time. You can’t, however, have more than five grams of concentrate. As long as you don’t grow it in public view, you can have an unlimited number of seedlings.
Massachusetts makes it better to be a home smoker than it does to travel with it. People 21 years and older can have up to one ounce on their person but up to ten ounces in their home. You must have it in a stored container after purchasing.
People 21 years and older in Michigan can have up to two and a half ounces or 15 grams of concentrate on them. There is a ten-ounce limit if you’re storing it in your home, and it’s illegal to consume cannabis in public spaces in Michigan.
If you’re over 21 in the state of Montana, you can have one ounce or eight grams of concentrate. As with some of the other states on this list, you’re still not allowed to use it in a public space.
Nevada is a little more strict on edibles. You can only have up to an eighth of an ounce if you’re 21 or over, compared to a full ounce of cannabis. You can’t consume any cannabis while inside casinos or a moving vehicle.
New Jersey makes their cannabis rules pretty simple. You can have up to one ounce of any type of cannabis product as long as you are 21 years or older. Don’t try to cultivate in the home, though, because you aren’t allowed to have any plants for personal use.
New York allows three ounces of cannabis for recreational use to adults over the age of 21.
In Oregon, as long as you are 21, you can have up to one ounce of smokable cannabis on your person but up to eight ounces in your home. When it comes to edibles and other products, though, you can have up to 16 ounces in solid form or 72 ounces in liquid.
South Dakota allows adults over 21 to purchase up to one ounce from a licensed retailer.
If you’re 21 or older, you can purchase up to one ounce of cannabis legally. You still can’t smoke or use it in public places or in your car. You can also have up to two mature plants and four immature plants at home—but selling it outside dispensaries is still illegal.
Adults over 21 in Virginia can grow up to four plants at home and possess a maximum of one ounce when they travel outside the house.
Washington is a lot like Oregon. You can purchase up to one ounce of smokable marijuana if you’re 21 years or older, up to 16 ounces of edibles in solid form, and up to 72 ounces in liquid form. You can even have up to seven grams of concentrate, giving you a lot of possibilities.
Washington, D.C. still has strict rules on cannabis even though it has legalized the sale of it. You can purchase up to two ounces of cannabis at one time, and you can even gift someone up to one ounce of cannabis—but the key is to gift it. Selling marijuana outside of dispensaries is still illegal. What’s tricky about Washington, D.C. is that if you are caught on the 30% of the district that’s considered federal land, you could catch federal charges.
As the stigmas lift around recreational marijuana use, we’ll likely add more places to this list. Make sure you’re aware of your state’s laws before you responsibly buy your weed.